h1

Frank Carroll Workshop In Milwaukee, WI

August 16, 2007

Today I attended my first Frank Carroll workshop.  It was very interesting to hear Frank’s views on technique, performance and the new judging system.

As with nearly every elite coach I’ve met, Frank emphasized lifting up into a jump before rotating.  He also emphasized the basics of checking turns, strong landing positions, and a neutral head position.  When I have more time, I’ll comment further on much of this including specific recommendations for each of the jumps.

I thought one part of our conversation was worth further discussion now.  Frank says he regularly uses video in his coaching.  He doesn’t use Dartfish or any similar software but uses regular old slow motion video playback.  He said that focusing too much on static positions within Dartfish can confuse a skater.  He thinks it is important to observe the positions dynamically so that skaters don’t try to replicate positions they see in freeze frame in Dartfish.

I thought his comments were very interesting and I’d like to know what you think.  Please leave a comment below.

Trevor

Leave a Reply

